European Travel Commission elects Manuel Butler as new president

RDO / News  / European Travel Commission elects Manuel Butler as new president
22 May 2013

European Travel Commission elects Manuel Butler as new president

Mr Manuel Butler, Director General of Tourspain (Spain) was elected President of the European Travel Commission (ETC) at the 84th General Meeting in Dublin (Ireland) on 11th April.

Mr Manuel Butler succeeds Ms Petra Hedorfer of the German National Tourist Board (GNTB) for a three-year term. Also elected at the meeting were Mr Gergely Horvath (Hungarian National Tourist Office] and Mr Marios Hannides (Cyprus Tourism Organisation) as the organisation’s Vice Presidents.

The European Travel Commission is an association of National Tourism Organisations (NTOs). It was created in 1948 to promote Europe as a tourism destination to the long-haul markets outside Europe, originally in the USA and later in Canada, Latin America and Asia. It currently has 33 member NTOs, including 9 from outside the European Union. ETC is an independent body which is financed entirely by annual membership contributions and partnership funding.

Manuel Butler has been CEO of the Spanish Institute for Tourism since January 2012 and has acquired extensive experience in destination marketing over more than 25 years working in management positions, both in the public and the private sector, in Western Europe, North and Latin America. “Europe is the world’s number one tourist destination. However, this leadership position should not be a reason for complacency. Europe has to contend with growing competition in the increasingly globalised international tourism market. In order to respond to this situation, the countries of Europe have to join forces, share resources and ideas and develop joint marketing initiatives to promote the excellence and diversity of Europe” said Manuel Butler.

For further information go to or

No Comments

Post a Comment